Style Spotlight: Xiara Arroyo

To me, style isn’t necessarily about the clothes you wear. It’s how you carry yourself, your personality, and how/if you wear your clothes with confidence. It all coincides together to create you and how people see you on the daily. I’ve had the chance to meet some awesome people that allude that sense of style, one of them being my friend, Xiara Arroyo.

Last year, I met Xiara at my school’s club fair, where we both volunteered to run a table for our school’s fashion club. After getting to know her, I felt inspired by her personality. There’s something calming about her voicel; she speaks so eloquently but with a slight Jersey flair. (And being that she is from Jersey, it made sense!)

Xiara is a fashionable gal and a creative thinker. To me, the phrase “She has a mind of her own,” perfectly describes her. Currently attending the Art Institute of Las Vegas, she is obtaining her bachelor’s degree for Fashion Retail Management, a major that keeps students constantly thiking and constantly working. Xiara also writes for Her Campus , a community of women that blog about style, beauty, health, and life. With her busy schedule, she still graciously gave me the opportunity to spend some time with her and interview her for this week’s Style Spotlight. Read the interview below to see her #ootd and get to know her better. 🙂

IMG_7407

Full name: Xiara Arroyo

Age: 23

State: Born in Chicago, Illinois and raised in New Jersey

IMG_7403

Where do like living more, Jersey or Nevada?

Las Vegas is more open. The people are more open, the landscape is more open the ideas are more open. New Jersey felt confined and enclosed for me at the moment in time when I decided to move.

IMG_7402

How would you describe yourself?
I’m well mannered and polite but I wouldn’t use the word nice to describe myself. I’m a good girl, but nice? Hmm not so much.

I grew up in a city where there’s a lot of a lot. A lot of personalities, a lot of people, a lot of movement. Being happy go lucky didn’t always work. Sometimes I don’t want to spend my good happy energy on people who just don’t want it, even though they might need it.

IMG_7400

IMG_7406

Who would you consider a fashion leader who has made a huge impact on the industry?
Burberry. They always surprise me with the next step. They’re always ahead of the game and I think that’s a quality that everyone in fashion should have. They push the limit. They do everyday wear that’s very casual. They have clean aesthetics, and they keep up with technology and move with the times. (Laughing) They’re always on point.

What’s your style description?
Ever so changing. I might have on a pretty grunge look on Monday and a upper east side look on Friday. I never know. I wake up and different things are considered when I get dressed. My mood, the music I’m listening to, the weather, where I’m headed…all these things matter along with other things.

IMG_7418

IMG_7419

 Is there a brand that you don’t like?

I can’t think of any specific  brand. I wouldn’t want to bad mouth anyone’s work, but I’m sure there are brands, I just don’t pay any mind to the idea of it.

IMG_7411

IMG_7413

IMG_7412

You also dance. What is the best dance memory you have?
I was in a dance group called Desi Fusion. It was a group of girls who were passionate about dancing and wanted to explore various forms of dance. So we collaborated with all kinds of dances like African, traditional Spanish, hip hop, contemporary, and there was always a flavor of Indian. We also worked off each other’s strengths. I did that for three years.

If you could take over any designers line, who’s collection would you take over?
I would like to dethrone Karl Lagerfeld. Just kidding. It sounds cool though. 

But on a serious note I would rather take over a line as creative director and fulfill the position in my own shoes. I wouldn’t wanna seem like I was trying to be better than the last person. I think Nicolas Ghesquiere is doing a great job after replacing Marc Jacob at Louis Vuitton. I wanna create for whichever line it is for me.

IMG_7414

IMG_7415

IMG_7417


What’s something about you that no one would ever guess?

I LOVE to read. I enjoy reading. As a kid it was an escape, a way to travel without traveling. Books allow you to see without seeing.

If you could only eat 3 kinds of foods for the rest of your life, what would they be?
 Potatoes, hot peppers, and fish.

What’s your favorite cartoon?
Lately I’ve been watching Betty Boop episodes.

IMG_7410

IMG_7409

 If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be?
My brother who committed suicide the summer before my senior year in high school, Caesar Chavez, and Kanye West. It would make for good conversation. It’ll also even out the dinner table. Two dead, two alive. But who’s really to say what’s dead and alive. We all exist.

IMG_7408

 What’s your goal for 2015?
I want to continue growing. Mid way through 2014 I did a lot of self analyzing.

 I made a huge move from New Jersey to Las Vegas, which I think was for the best. I’m totally a nomad. I’ve known since I was a kid in elementary school, when I first learned the word. I said to myself “I’ll be a nomad and go all over.” At that point, I thought I’d be traveling with a heard of buffalo. I wouldn’t be surprised if I made a major move again in a few years.

 The constant moving isn’t scary for me. I know some people like to plant themselves. I’m more like a seed being carried around by the wind.

 I don’t have anything specific. I have general ideas of the direction I want to go, so I keep that in mind as opportunities arise. I think I’m on a really good path right now and I just want to keep the momentum going.

One thought on “Style Spotlight: Xiara Arroyo

Thoughts? :)

