Simple Eating: Crispy Sesame Tofu

As of lately, I’ve amped up my clean eating game a bit. I took up veganism to reset my body by doing a 21 Day Daniel Fast back in November. I loved the spiritual, mental, and physical benefits from it, that I decided to kick start the new year by doing another one !

For those of you who don’t know, the Daniel Fast is a 21 Day “cleanse” that is based upon a prophet in the Old Testament of the Bible named Daniel. Daniel went on a 10 day fast, eating only vegetables and fruits and drinking only water. Daniel’s desire to fast for 10 days was to pursue the Lord and seek him for spiritual “food” instead of physical food. The purpose of the fast is to put a restriction on commonly enjoyed foods as an act of worship to the Lord. Doing a Daniel Fast is a physical commitment in order to pursue a closer relationship with God.

Doing a Daniel Fast consists of going on a strict vegan diet, eliminating meat, dairy, sugar, caffeine, and alcohol. I’ve done about four Daniel fasts since I committed myself to the Lord back in 2010. At first, it was really difficult because I was so used to eating what I wanted. But the spiritual experience I had while doing the Daniel Fast was so much more worth than any type of food ! I really felt God’s presence in my life during my fast and felt extremely connected to Him. If you are looking for spiritual development through fasting check out https://danielfast.wordpress.com/ for more information and a food list of what to eat for 21 days.

Aside from the spiritual aspects, the Daniel Fast is one of the best ways to really drive me on paying attention to what I eat. I’m more in tune to what my body needs and the things that nutritive it. For example, I know my protein is pretty limited on this fast and my body is craving it ! Since legumes and nuts don’t satisfy my protein craving, I did something I said I never would: I BOUGHT TOFU. But instead of eating it in its jelly-like form, I cooked it. Oh, and here’s the kicker: I LOVED IT !

I always said I’d never eat tofu again after I ate it the first time. I didn’t like the texture of it and it made me feel like I was eating bad tasting jelly. But thaaaaank goodness, I found this recipe online that can make tofu edible and actually enjoyable to eat. Plus, it’s a stir-fry with veggies, so I get my vegetable AND protein fix.

Look below for pictures, ingredients, and directions on how to make this delicious Crispy Sesame Tofu !

IMG_7115 IMG_7116 IMG_7117

 

Ingredients:

  • Tofu- Okay… I cheated a bit and bought mine from Whole Foods, where they already prepped it with sesame seeds and oil.
  • Vegetables- I used carrots for this recipe, but you can add whatever veggies you’d like.
  • Sesame Sauce- I used the sauce that comes with the Whole Foods tofu, but you can use whatever kind you want !

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • The tofu comes in rectangles, so slice the tofu in squares and place them on a baking sheet.
  • Cook for 25 minutes
  • Prep a skillet, putting the heat on low-medium.
  • Chop up your veggies
  • When tofu is done, immediately place them the skillet on one side of the pan.
  • Take sesame sauce and pour directly on top of tofu. Let sit and mix together, coating both sides of every piece of tofu.
  • Add more sauce directly on the tofu and add vegetables on the other side of the pan.
  • Let the tofu and sauce sit so that the tofu soaks in the sesame sauce.
  • Mix the tofu and sauce and toss in your vegetables, stirring often for 3-5 minutes or until you cooked your veggies the way you want.
  • Remove from heat and serve.

This recipe was inspired by The Minimalistic Baker. Thank you for your recipe ! Check out their recipe for tofu stir fry here !

Eat well, my beauties !
Happy Thursday Xo

3 thoughts on “Simple Eating: Crispy Sesame Tofu

Thoughts? :)

