Beauty Picks & Tricks: Graciella’s Princess Nails

There’s something about having my nails all done up and pretty that makes me feel more confident about the way I look. I love coming up with awesome designs to make them stick out a bit more. As a college student (and a broke one at that), I’m starting to realize that although it’s nice to go to the salon and have someone else clean and primp my claws, it can be quite expensive. So I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands and do my own nails. I have yet to master a lot of nail design tricks, but I have a go-to nail design that I’ve been wearing for months that I wanted to share on this post today.

2014-10-06 16.05.19

I’ve called this look my “Princess Nails”, simply because the color combination of the polish and the glitter reminds me of a princess. I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on this look, with people asking me if I had gel polish on my nails or if I had my nails done at the salon. But low and behold, I used plain old regular polish and I did my nails all on my own. And guess what?! You can do this look yourself at home AND save a lot of money too ! Take a look below at the products I used. I linked the base coat, the topcoat, and the embellishments to sites where you can purchase them. The glitter and the color I used was a little hard to track, but use whatever color you want for this design. It’ll still look awesome. 🙂

2014-10-06 15.11.39
It’s important to use a base coat to protect your nails and a top coat to add a finished and beautiful sheen to your nails.

Wet N’ Wild Protective Basecoat: $0.99
NYC In a New York Minute Quick Dry Nail Polish: $1.99 

2014-10-06 15.10.55
Since I love glitter on my nails, I used this glitter polish to add more pizazz to my design.

Revlon Nail Enamel in Vernis: Discontinued

2014-10-06 15.10.14
I’m usually not a fan of any type of pink, but I love this pretty lavender color because it’s easy on the eyes.

Princessa Nail Color

2014-10-06 15.41.44
Here’s a tip for the nail gems: In order to securely stick the nail gems on my nails, I dipped the back sides in the NYC In a New York Minute top coat and used a toothpick to place them on my freshly painted colored nails.

NPW Nail Art Gem Wheel: $15.48

I hope you guys enjoyed this entry as much as I had fun writing it. I’m curious as to what your favorite nails designs are. Let me know in the comments below ! I would love to hear from you. 🙂

Until next time
Xo

IMG_5556.JPG

Thoughts? :)

